AustLit logo
The International Booker Prize
or Man Booker International Prize
Subcategory of Awards International Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The International Booker Prize was established in 2005 to acknowledge the contribution of translations to fiction, and to complement The Booker Prize.

From 2005 to 2015 was awarded every two years, and awarded to acknowledge a writer's contribution to global writing. In 2015, the award became an annual award for fiction in translation.

Novels and short fiction are eligible.