AustLit logo
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Administered by the Fellowship of Australian Writers Victorian branch, this award is for manuscripts with a minimum length of 30,000 words.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2016

joint winner The Last Supper John Craig , 2006 single work short story science fiction
— Appears in: Antipodean SF , December-January no. 103 2006-2007;
joint winner Trish Bolton For 'Murder Most Suburban'.

Year: 2015

winner Jo Gardiner For 'The Letter Carrier'.

Year: 2014

winner Clint Caward for Ground Truth
winner Dorothy-Jane Daniels for Green Jay and Crow

Year: 2013

winner Melanie Napthine For Small Crimes (fiction).
winner Alison Stewart For Cold Stone Soup (non-fiction).

Year: 2012

winner Graham Shiel For Kingdom of the Father.