AustLit logo
Best Fan Publication in Any Medium
Subcategory of Ditmar Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Formerly Best Fanzine.


2019 winner Elizabeth Fitzgerald for 'Earl Grey Editing'.
2018 winner y separately published work icon SF Commentary : The Independent Magazine About Science Fiction Bruce Gillespie (editor), 1969 Bacchus Marsh : Bruce Gillespie , Z965181 1969 periodical (15 issues) 'SF Commentary sits at the high end of the 'sercon,' or serious discussion of SF, group of fanzines, a position it has occupied for many years now. In this SFC is following a proud Australian tradition first established by John Bangsund in the mid-60s with his Australian SF Review. Both fanzines engaged SF's literati from throughout the world, and both have offered important venues to some of the major voices in SF criticism, who in turn have written seminal pieces on some of the most important authors to emerge in the field in the second half of the 20th century, starting with Phil Dick and Ursula LeGuin.

What's most impressive about the way Gillespie (now) and Bangsund (then) have accomplished this is that neither gave in to the academic stuffed-shirt navel-gazing which has grown up over the past forty years around SF and all but smothered SF criticism. SFC maintains a civilized and literate tone throughout, but draws more upon the British tradition of letters and the ties of fannish community to accomplish its purposes. It is not by accident that Gillespie has long called his editorial in SFC "I Must Be Talking To My Friends."'

[Ted White. 'Fanzines.' WSFA Journal April 2002 (sighted 8/01/2013]
2017 winner The 2016 Snapshot : Australian Speculative Fiction 2016 anthology interview
— Appears in: Australian SF Snapshot Project 2016-;
2016 winner Tansy Rayner Roberts For Galactic Suburbia podcast (with Alisa Krasnostein and Alexandra Pierce).
2016 winner Alexandra Pierce For Galactic Suburbia podcast (with Alisa Krasnostein and Tansy Rayner Roberts).
2016 winner Alisa Krasnostein

For Galactic Suburbia podcast (with Alexandra Pierce and Tansy Rayner Roberts).

2016 winner Grant Watson For The Angriest.
2015 winner Kirstyn McDermott For The Writer and the Critic.
2015 winner Ian Mond For The Writer and the Critic.
2013 winner Ian Mond For The Writer and the Critic
2013 winner Kirstyn McDermott For the Writer and the Critic