AustLit logo
Melbourne Prize for Literature
Subcategory of Melbourne Prize
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Melbourne Prize runs on a three-year awards cycle, alternating between literature, music, and urban sculpture.


2021 winner Christos Tsiolkas
2018 winner Alison Lester
2015 winner And the World Was Calm i "Sandbags of sugar cannot conceal the gloomy fact", Chris Wallace-Crabbe , 1990 single work poetry
— Appears in: For Crying Out Loud 1990; (p. 38-39) The Penguin Book of Modern Australian Poetry 1991; (p. 190-191) The Oxford Book of Modern Australian Verse 1996; (p. 119-120) New and Selected Poems 2013; (p. 243-245)
2012 winner Alex Miller
2009 winner Gerald Murnane
2006 inaugural winner Helen Garner