AustLit logo
Companion of the Order of Australia (AC)
Subcategory of Order of Australia
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


2014 Les Carlyon

For eminent service to literature through the promotion of the national identity as an

author, editor and journalist, to the understanding and appreciation of Australia's war

history, and to the horseracing industry.

2014 Mandawuy Yunupingu For eminent service to the performing arts as a musician and songwriter, to the advancement of education and social justice for Indigenous people, and as an advocate for cultural exchange and understanding.
2014 Geoffrey Rush For eminent service to the arts as a theatre performer, motion picture actor and film producer, as a role model and mentor for aspiring artists, and through support for, and promotion of, the Australian arts industry.
2013 For eminent service to the community, particularly women, as an author, academic and through leadership roles with corporations, foundations, universities and philanthropic groups. Jill Ker Conway
2013 Tom Uren
2012 Joan Kirner For eminent service to the Parliament of Victoria and to the community through conservation initiatives, contributions to gender equality, the development of education and training programs and the pursuit of civil rights and social inclusion.
2012 Gareth John Evans For eminent service to international relations, particularly in the Asia Pacific Region as an adviser to governments on a range of global policy matters, to conflict prevention and resolution, and to arms control and disarmament.
2012 Peter Singer For eminent service to philosophy and bioethics as a leader of public debate and communicator of ideas in the areas of global poverty, animal welfare and the human condition.
2011 Peter Costello For eminent service to the Parliament of Australia, particularly through the development of landmark economic policy reforms in the areas of taxation, foreign investment, superannuation and corporate regulation, and through representative roles with global financial organisations.
2010 James Fairfax For eminent service to the community through support and philanthropy for the visual arts, conservation organisations and building programs for medical research and educational facilities.
2009 Carla Zampatti
2009 Faith Bandler For distinguished service to the community through the advancement of human rights and social justice, and by raising public awareness and understanding of the cultural heritage of South Seas Islanders, and to women's issues.
2006 Margaret Olley For service as one of Australia's most distiguished artists, for support and philanthrophy to the visual and performing arts, and for encouragement of young and emerging artists.
2006 Inga Clendinnen For service to scholarship as a writer and historian addressing issues of fundamental concern to Australian society and for contributing to shaping public debate on conflicting contemporary issues.
2004 John Hay For service to advancing higher education in Australia including contributions to research and innovation policies and funding, and at the University of Queensland through significant development of academic and administrative structures.
2003 Ian Callinan For service to the judiciary and the practice of law, to the arts and to the community.
2001 John Landy
1999 Lowitja O'Donoghue CBE, AM. For public service through leadership to Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians in the areas of human rights and social justice, particularly as chairperson of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander commission. AC S16 1999
1993 Leonie Kramer Service to Australian Literature, Education and Community
1992 John Passmore
1991 J. H. Muirhead
1989 Frank Fenner In recognition of service to medical science, to public health and to the environment
1989 Mary Durack For service to the community and to literature.
1988 Sidney Nolan For service to the visual arts and to the advancement of art appreciation in Australia and overseas.
1981 A. D. Hope For service to literature
1979 John Bray For service to the law, to literature and to the community
1977 Colin Thiele For eminent and meritorious service to literature and education.
1975 Manning Clark
1974 Joan Sutherland In recognition of service to the performing arts
Neal Blewett
Mark Oliphant
H. C. Coombs