AustLit logo
Josephine Ulrick Literature Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Josephine Ulrick Poetry Prize is an award given to Australian poets for a single poem. The initial prize was awarded at the Somerset Celebration of Literature literary dinner in Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia in March 1997. The prize was created by Win Schubert, Director of Art Galleries Schubert at the Gold Coast, in celebration of the dynamic life of her gallery manager and close friend, Josephine Ulrick. From 1998 until 2000, the Prize was managed by the Somerset Celebration of Literature, then from 2001 to 2003 it moved to the University of Queensland. It then became a part of the Creative Writing program at Griffith University, Gold Coast, in Queensland. Starting in 2013, the Arts, Education and Law Group at Griffith University funded the award fully, and the name was changed to the Griffith University Josephine Ulrick Poetry Prize.' (


  • The Joseph Ulrick Literature Prize is awarded to a different genre of short literature (between 1,000 and 3,000 words) each year over a three-year cycle. Prize value $10,000. Inaugural year 2003.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2016

winner Tessa Lunney For 'Chess and Dragonflies'.

Year: 2015

winner Manyuk Mark Smith , 2015 single work short story
— Appears in: Review of Australian Fiction , vol. 14 no. 3 2015; The Best Australian Stories 2015 2015; (p. 211-218)

Year: 2012

winner Long Grass over Home Matthew Lamb , 2012 single work short story
— Appears in: Griffith Review , 30 January no. 39 2013; (p. 247-254)

Year: 2011

winner Tryst Rachael S. Morgan , 2011 single work short story
— Appears in: Griffith Review , Summer no. 34 2011; (p. 96-103)

Year: 2010

Jewelene Barrile for 'The Geometry Lesson'

Works About this Award

Josephine Ulrick Prize Winner Laura Elvery Andrea Baldwin , 2013 single work interview
— Appears in: Writing Queensland , December - January no. 236 2013-2014; (p. 12)
Bookmarks : Big Bucks for a Short Yarn Jason Steger , 2003 single work column
— Appears in: The Age , 5 April 2003; (p. 6)