AustLit logo
The Lysicrates Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Lysicrates Prize was inspired by the imminent restoration of an historic monument in Sydney’s Royal Botanic Garden: The Choragic Monument of Lysicrates.

The Lysicrates Prize is a philanthropic initiative. Griffin Theatre Company was commissioned to create the competition, which will be the first of its kind in Australia. A select group of Australian playwrights are invited to submit the first Act of a new play.


2019 winner Travis Cotton for Starfish
2019 winner Jane Bodie for Tell Me You Love Me
2017 winner Melissa Bubnic for Ghosting the Party
2016 winner Mary Rachel Brown for Approximate Balance
2015 inaugural winner Steve Rodgers for an adaptation of Peter Goldsworthy's novella Jesus Wants Me for a Sunbeam