AustLit logo
The Carmel Bird Award
or The Carmel Bird Digital Literary Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'This award is a Long Story competition run by Spineless Wonders. They are a publishing company devoted to short, quality fiction by Australian writers. Their primary focus is on digital publishing, although they do supplement this with print publications as well.

'The competition is open to female writers and must be between 4,000 and 10,000 words. The first prize is $500, and the winner and shortlisted stories will be considered for inclusion in the Spineless Wonders Long Shorts e-series. There is an entry fee of $20 and the closing date is the 31st of August.' (Source: )


2020 winner Michalia Arathimos for 'Apologia'.
2019 winner y separately published work icon Grub and Other Short Stories Tanya Vavilova , Strawberry Hills : Spineless Wonders , 2019 17319201 2019 selected work short story

'Grub brings its focus to those things we don’t see, to the people on the edges of society who might be a little “grubby”. Its setting is Sydney’s inner west, in a not-too-distant future, where the looming concerns of today (like climate change and capitalism) have come to pass, and subsistence is commonplace. They range from light-hearted, such as ‘Grub’, where an obsession to cleanliness is taken to extremes, to much darker. In ‘Carpark’, a young queer boy is beaten up, watched by a couple from the safety of their apartment, and ‘Whipped Cream’ is a Handmaid’s Tale-type dystopia, with references to breeding and silver vans. Peopled with odd individuals, Grub examines our humanity (and sometimes, lack of) in extreme circumstances.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2018 winner y separately published work icon The Age of Fibs and Other Short Stories Beth Spencer , Strawberry Hills : Spineless Wonders , 2018 14975987 2018 selected work short story

'A collection that crosses boundaries of genre and time; meditating on history, memory, representation and desire. A ten year old visits her brother in hospital across a state border after a car accident; growing up in the age of Fibs bras and the rise and fall of the Whitlam government; the cast of Fatal Attraction let loose on the streets of Newtown; a montage of romance, dating advice and a teenage girl’s exploration of desire; a band of tourists visit Uluru; a man struggles for control of his life story; and a memoir using photographs reinventing relationships and belonging.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2015 winner The Turn Amanda O'Callaghan , 2016 single work short story crime
— Appears in: Crime Scenes : Stories 2016; (p. 7-23)
2014 winner y separately published work icon We're All Travellers Here Marjorie Lewis-Jones , Strawberry Hills : Spineless Wonders , 2014 11448375 2014 single work short story

'Eric has been thinking about his life and why he has always lived it on the safe side and with such quiet containment. While on holidays with his elderly but seemingly more life-embracing mother, he begins to explore these thoughts further – of how his extensive travels have given him the chance to experience the power of fate and lost opportunities.

What happens when this inner turmoil reaches a climax?'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2013 winner Alex Cothren For 'A Cure'
2012 winner y separately published work icon Ite, Missa Est Go, You Are Sent Forth Felicity Volk , Strawberry Hills : Spineless Wonders , 2013 11449135 2013 single work short story

'What effect does being without sexual intimacy have on our sense of identity? ‘Ite Misse Est’ explores this question through the experience of Berenice, a retired nun. The story is also about Berenice’s life-long friend, Mary and what happens when the people we love move beyond our reach, and how to find the grace necessary to send them forth (Ite Misse Est), with or without us.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2011 winner The Gardener Susan McCreery , 2011 single work short story
— Appears in: Escape : An Anthology of Short Stories 2011; (p. 57-65) Award Winning Australian Writing 2012 2012; (p. 23-30)