AustLit logo
Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award
Subcategory of Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature Festival Awards for Literature (SA)
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Formally Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award for the Creative Development of a Play Script by a SA Emerging Writer.

The award supports the creative development of a play by a South Australian writer with the assistance of the State Theatre Company of South Australia.


2020 winner Piri Eddy for 'Forgiveness'.
2018 winner Emily Steel

For '19 Weeks'.

2016 winner Fleur Kilpatrick for Blessed
2014 winner y separately published work icon Replay Phillip Kavanagh , 2014 Strawberry Hills : Currency Press , 2016 6920090 2014 single work drama

'The past is what you make it. John saw his brother Michael die. He seems to have forgotten it, until now. His brother Peter saw it too, but remembers things differently. Together, they revisit the past in search of a common truth. But this search has terrifying, unexpected consequences for them both. This play reminds us that moments of chance, lost or taken, can determine our destiny' (production blurb).