AustLit logo
The Booranga Prize for Poetry
Subcategory of The Booranga Prize
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Booranga Prizes, one for fiction and one for poetry, are awarded each year for the best short story and poem in the current issue of fourW, the annual anthology of new writing and graphics published by fourW press, out of Charles Sturt University's Booranga Writers' Centre. The competition judges are comprised of the fourW editor and the selection panel. The School of Humanities and Social Sciences at CSU funds the prizes, worth $250 each. '

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2021

winner Damen O'Brien for 'How to Hold a Knife'.

Year: 2020

winner Tug Dumbly for 'Fake Billy Collins Poem'.

Year: 2019

winner Hugh Crago for 'Equal Rights for Gay Whales'.

Year: 2015

winner Six Liporams i "It's as if humming that sad old song", Mark O'Flynn , 2015 single work poetry
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2015 2015; (p. 15-19)