AustLit logo
National Dreamtime Awards
or Dreamtime Awards
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The National Dreamtime Awards is an opportunity for First Nation people from across our country to come together and recognise our excellence in the categories of Sport, Arts, Education, Health and Community.

'The awards are attended by the country’s most high profile political and community figures, sporting stars, entertainers and personalities.

'The Awards recognise excellence across 17 categories, plus 3 major awards.' (

Winners (also see subcategories)12373521

2018 winner (Media Person of the Year) Allan Clarke
2017 winner (International Sportsperson of the Year) Patrick Mills
2017 winner (Media Person of the Year) Stan Grant
2017 winner (Female Music Artist of the Year) Jessica Mauboy
2017 winner (Female Actor of the Year) Shari Sebbens