AustLit logo


Queensland Writers Fellowship (2013-)
Subcategory of Queensland Literary Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'Each year since 2013, three established Queensland authors have been awarded a Queensland Writers Fellowship to produce new work and progress their careers. The fellowships offer a $15,000 cash prize and career development support through the Queensland Writers Centre. The Queensland Writers Fellowships elevate Queensland authors by investing targeted support in extraordinary writers at the right time to support the production of new work.' (

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2023

recipient Al Campbell for her novel project ‘Door 64’
recipient B. R. Dionysius for his poetry project ‘The Eromanga Sea’
recipient Melanie Saward for her novel project ‘The Next Chapter’

Year: 2022

recipient Melissa Ashley for 'The Celebrated Bodies of Anna Morandi'.
recipient Geneve Flynn for 'The Red Dowager: All debts must be repaid'.
recipient Mary-Rose MacColl for 'In These Mountains'.

Year: 2021

recipient Tabitha Bird for 'The Healing Giggle of Wonder'.
recipient Ella Jeffery for 'Split Level'.
recipient Kali Napier for 'Preserving: Stories'.

Year: 2019

recipient Claire Christian for 'The Invisibles'.
recipient Sarah Holland-Batt for 'Spiral Separator'.
recipient Emily O'Grady for 'Feast: A Literary Novel'.

Year: 2018

recipient Jackie Ryan
recipient Laura Elvery