AustLit logo
The Alice Award
or The Alice Literary Award
Subcategory of Society of Women Writers, New South Wales, Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Alice Literary Award is presented to an Australian woman who has made a distinguished, long-term contribution to Australian Literature. The award is in the form of a trophy and it is presented biennially. The winner is chosen after consultation with all state branches of the Society.'

Source: Society of Women Writers.


  • Presented to an Australian woman whose written work has made a distinguished and long term contribution to literature. The award is conferred every two years in conjunction with other State branches of the Society of Women Writers.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2018

Year: 2016

Year: 2014

Year: 2012

Year: 2010