AustLit logo
Davitt Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Davitt Awards, presented annually by Sisters in Crime Australia for the best crime books by Australian women, are named in honour of Ellen Davitt, whose 1865 novel, Force and Fraud: A Tale of the Bush, is the first known Australian murder mystery novel. The awards were established in 2001.

Source: Sighted: 26/11/2013.

Winners (also see subcategories)v1252