AustLit logo
New South Wales History Prize (2006-)
New South Wales Premier's History Prize (1997-2005)
or NSW Premier's History Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The New South Wales Premier's History Prize is administered by the State Library of NSW, in association with Create NSW. The awards were first presented in 1997 to honour distinguished achievement in history by Australian citizens and permanent residents. The awards assist in establishing values and standards in historical research and publication and encourage everyone to appreciate and learn from the work of our historians.

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)v1155

Works About this Award

Undercover Susan Wyndham , 2012 single work column
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 3-4 March 2012; (p. 31)

A column canvassing current literary news including a report on the review, commissioned by Premier Barry O'Farrell, of the New South Wales Premier's Literary Awards and the New South Wales Premier's History Prize. Neither award will be presented in 2012 during the Sydney Writers' Week, as has been the practice in recent years. The review was completed in November 2011, but had not been released by March 2012.

Wyndham also notes Andrew Bifield's win the written-word category of the Qantas Spirit of Youth Awards.

Success Bittersweet for Student Authors James Hall , 2002 single work column
— Appears in: The Weekend Australian , 5-6 October 2002; (p. 8)