AustLit logo
The Arts Queensland Val Vallis Award for Unpublished Poetry
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'Named in honour of a distinguished Queensland poet, the Arts Queensland Val Vallis Award for an Unpublished Poem is committed to encouraging poets throughout Australia. Now in its 20th year, this prestigious prize for an unpublished poem (or suite of poems) of 80 lines or less comes with a total value of $2,000.' (


2019 winner Ice and Glass i "You will be out of reach upon a wafer shelf of ice,", Damen O'Brien , 2019 single work poetry
— Appears in: Cordite Poetry Review , 1 November no. 93 2019;
2018 winner Zenobia Frost
2017 winner Bronwyn Lovell

for Quietly, on the way to Mars

2016 winner Caitlin Maling For 'Conversion'.
2015 winner Andrew Last
2014 winner Not Fox nor Axe i "This is for you – this rough assembly of memento mori:", Chloe Wilson , 2015 single work poetry
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2015 2015; (p. 58-60)
2014 winner Chloe Wilson for 'Not Fox Nor Axe'
2013 winner Protein Gradients B. R. Dionysius , 2013 sequence poetry
— Appears in: Cordite Poetry Review , September no. 43.0 2013;
2012 winner The Heads of Holofernes Chloe Wilson , 2013 single work poetry
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2013 2013; (p. 281-285)
2010 winner Vishvarupa Michelle Cahill , 2009 2009 sequence poetry
— Appears in: Blake Prize 2007;
for a sequence from Vishvarupa
2009 winner Andrew Slattery
2008 winner Anna Krien For the poem The Last Broadcasters
2007 winner Andrew Slattery for ‘Frameworkers’
2005 winner Ynes Sanz The prize winning suite of poems by Ynes Sanz is called 'Quandamooka Suite.'
2003 winner Skirmish Point Jaya Savige , 2005 sequence poetry
— Appears in: Latecomers 2005; (p. 15-43)
winner Sandy Fitts