AustLit logo
James Tiptree, Jr Award
Subcategory of Awards International Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Founded in 1991 by American science-fiction novelists Pat Murphy and Karen Joy Fowler and named for James Tiptree, Jr (pen-name for Alice B. Sheldon), the James Tiptree, Jr Award celebrates science-fiction and fantasy novels that expand the understanding of gender.

Note: the award's 'honour list' is the equivalent to a shortlist.

In 2019, the award announced that it was changing its name to the Otherwise Award, after the science fiction community expressed concern about the end of Sheldon's life (which may have been a suicide pact or may have been a murder-suicide)

For details, see the Tiptree Award website:

See recipients of the Otherwise Award.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2013

winner y separately published work icon Rupetta Nike Sulway , Leyburn : Tartarus Press , 2013 Z1927828 2013 single work novel fantasy 'Four hundred years ago, in a small town in rural France, a young woman creates the future in the shape of Rupetta. Part mechanical, part human, Rupetta's consciousness is tied to the women who wind her. In the years that follow she is bought and sold, borrowed, forgotten and revered. By the twentieth century, the Rupettan four-fold law rules everyone's lives, but Rupetta—the immortal being on whose existence and history those laws are based—is the keeper of a secret that will tear apart the world her followers have built in her name.'
Source: Publisher's blurb
First Australian work to win the James Tiptree, Jr Award.

Works About this Award

Rolling Column : The Virtual Juryroom Lucy Sussex , 1995 single work criticism
— Appears in: Australian Book Review , June no. 171 1995; (p. 70)