AustLit logo
Harold White Fellowships
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Harold White Fellowships supported annual fellowships to established researchers and writers. It supported 150 researchers until 2014. Established by the Council of the National Library of Australia in 1983 as the National Library Fellowships, the first Fellows commenced their research at the Library in 1984. The fellowships were renamed in honour of Sir Harold White CBE (1905-1992), the first National Librarian, in 1985.' (


2013 Alana Valentine
2005 Thomas Shapcott to examine the papers of Ray Mathew
2005 Bob Reece to prepare an edition of the letters of Daisy Bates
2003 Gary Catalano Fellowship (to write a biography of David Campbell) unable to be taken up due to Catalano's death.
1999 David Branagan
1993 Patricia Clarke For research on a biography of Rosa Praed.
1987 Frank Moorhouse