AustLit logo
New South Wales Writer's Fellowship
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The NSW Writer’s Fellowship was offered annually by the NSW Government to assist the writing of a new literary work by a writer living in NSW.

It is awarded based on:

  • The originality of the proposal;
  • Ability to engage the reader;
  • Professional skills and experience;
  • The potential impact of the fellowship on the applicant's writing career;
  • The extent to which the proposed new work will advance writing in Australia.

(Hills Shire Times, 7 June 2011, p16)


2018 winner Stephen Pham
2011 winner Emily Maguire
2010 Ceridwen Dovey $20,000 to work on a collection of short stories exploring the limits of human empathy.
2009 Anna Funder $20,000 award to be used for the writing of a novel tentatively titled 'The General's Pleasure', based on the relationship between Matthew Flinders and his jailer, General Charles de Caen.
2007 Frank Moorhouse
2005 winner Judith Beveridge $20,000 to complete a collection of poetry in the form of dramatic monologues.
2004 Delia Falconer
2003 winner Alana Valentine
2002 John Tranter
2000 (fiction) Merlinda Bobis
1997 Duong Le Quy
1993 Beth Yahp
1984 Tony Maniaty $10,000