AustLit logo
Commonwealth Literary Fund Fellowships
or CLF
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Commonwealth Literary Fund (CLF) was an Australian Government initiative founded in 1908 to assist needy Australian writers and their families. It was Federal Australia's first systematic support for the arts. Its scope was later broadened to encompass non-commercial literary projects.


1975 Hilde Knorr
1973 Don'o Kim
1973 y separately published work icon Henry Golightly : A Novel of the Sea Geoff Pike , Sydney : Angus and Robertson , 1974 Z1344571 1974 single work novel adventure
1971 Don'o Kim
1970 Ward McNally
1970 Judah Waten
1961 Alan Marshall
1954 Alan Marshall For a volume of short stories.
1952 Judah Waten
1952 Margaret Trist
1949 John Morrison
1949 Judith Wright
1947 John Morrison