AustLit logo
Sulman Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Sulman Prize is awarded for the best subject painting, genre painting or mural project by an Australian artist. A genre painting is normally a composition representing some aspect or aspects of everyday life, and may feature figurative, still-life, interior or figure-in-landscape themes. (


2012 winner Nigel Milsom for Judo house part 4 (golden mud)
2006 winner 沈嘉蔚 for Peking treaty 1901
2003 winner Eric John Smith for Reflection
2001 winner Euan Macleod for Exquisite corpse with fire
1993 winner John Montefiore for Life Series
1990 winner Robert Hollingworth for Going away/Looking back
1989 winner John Olsen for Don Quixote enters the inn
1986 joint winner Nigel Thomson for The State Institution
1986 joint winner Wendy Sharpe for Black sun - morning to night
1984 winner Tim Storrier for The Burn
1983 winner Nigel Thomson for Marat, the Unsophisticated will be Shocked at the Depiction of your...
1982 winner Salvatore Zofrea for Psalm 24
1981 winner William Delafield Cook for A French Family
1980 winner Brian Dunlop for The old physics building
1979 winner Salvatore Zofrea for The water trap
1978 winner Brett Whiteley for The yellow nude
1977 winner Salvatore Zofrea for Woman's life woman's love 3
1976 winner Brett Whiteley for Interior with time past
1975 joint winner Geoffrey Proud for Untitled. Jane
1975 joint winner Alan Oldfield for Transvestite (for Diane Arbus)
1974 winner Keith Looby for Still life and comfy II
1973 winner Eric John Smith for The painter transmogrified and Mrs Smith
1971 winner James Meldrum for Pyramid Shelf
1969 winner Louis James for Spy-hole
1968 winner Tim Storrier for Suzy 350
1966 winner Louis James for It's hot in town
1960 winner Leonard French for The Burial
1953 winner Eric John Smith for 'Convicts, Berrima, 1839', mural, Old Court House, Berrima (in situ)
1949 winner Jack Carington Smith
1943 winner Elaine Haxton