AustLit logo
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The TV Times Australian Film and Television Awards or Sammy Awards were created to rival the TV Week Logie Awards. The award was made for outstanding contribution to the Australian entertainment industry. The award ceremonies aided the Variety Club of Australia's charity for underprivileged children. 


1980 Best Writer Feature Film form y separately published work icon My Brilliant Career Eleanor Witcombe , ( dir. Gillian Armstrong ) Adelaide : Margaret Fink Productions , 1979 Z817179 1979 single work film/TV (taught in 7 units)

Based on the book by Miles Franklin, this feature film tells the story of an Australian country girl who, at the end of the nineteenth century, wants to make her own way in the outside world.

Rejecting an offer of marriage from a wealthy suitor (who is also her childhood friend), she instead finds herself obligated to work off her father's debt to a neighbouring family, for whom she works as governess and housekeeper. Returning home, she again rejects her suitor's proposal, this time in favour of writing a novel based on her experiences.

1979 winner form y separately published work icon Neutral Ground Michael Aitkens , Sydney : Australian Broadcasting Commission , 1978 7202765 1978 single work film/TV

'In Neutral ground Peter Sumner stars as Bruce Jefferson, an energetic advertising dynamo, and Cornelia Frances plays his estranged wife Joan, an equally dynamic magazine editor. They arrange to meet in a hotel suite, on Neutral Ground, to discuss the terms of their divorce.' ([Television guide], Canberra Times, 15 September 1978, p.34)

In 1980, a seven-episode series, Trial by Marriage was spun off from this television play: the series took place in the early days of the marriage.

For best comedy program.
1977 winner Terry Stapleton Best Writer for TV Comedy (Bobby Dazzler)