AustLit logo
FAW Short Story Competition
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2011

winner Lament for Three Hands Bruce Pascoe , 2011 single work short story
— Appears in: Southerly , vol. 71 no. 2 2011; (p. 96-100)

Year: 2001

winner y separately published work icon A Baker's Dozen Dorothy Hewett , Ringwood : Penguin , 2001 Z819397 2001 selected work short story "The thirteen stories in this superb collection span the period from 1957 to 1996, creating a vivid portrait of Australian life during these years. Dorothy Hewett casts her perceptive eye over race relations, single mothers, communism, dodging the law - nothing is too great or small for her unstinting gaze"--cover.

Works About this Award

Short Story Awards 1942 single work column
— Appears in: Meanjin Papers , January vol. 1 no. 7 1942; (p. 28)
Christmas party of F.A.W. Neil J. Myers , 1934 single work column
— Appears in: All About Books , 15 January vol. 6 no. 1 1934; (p. 16)
Short Story Competition 1933 single work column
— Appears in: All About Books , 14 August vol. 5 no. 8 1933; (p. 117)
Society of Australian Authors [Meeting Report] Emilie King-South , 1933 single work column
— Appears in: All About Books , 13 July vol. 5 no. 7 1933; (p. 109)
Includes details of the FAW competition.
Fellowship of Australian Writers [Meeting Report] Neil J. Myers , 1933 single work column
— Appears in: All About Books , 10 June vol. 5 no. 6 1933; (p. 93)