AustLit logo
Dublin Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Dublin Prize was established 1892. It is hosted by the University of Melbourne and awarded every five years. Eligible to enrolled undergraduate or graduate students of the University of Melbourne.


  • Awarded by the University of Melbourne Academic Board every five years to a student or graduate of the University of Melbourne who makes an outstanding contribution to art, music, literature or science.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 1987

Year: 1977

Year: 1972

Year: 1967

winner W. K. Hancock for History - ‘Smuts: The Sanguine Years’

Year: 1929

winner Charles Daley for ‘The History of Flora Australiensis’

Works About this Award

Writer of the Desert up for Richest Award David Reardon , 1999 single work column
— Appears in: The Age , 30 November 1999;
Dublin Prize to Vincent Buckley Stuart Sayers , 1977 single work
— Appears in: The Age , 3 December 1977; (p. 26)