AustLit logo
The Sydney Morning Herald Young Writer of the Year Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


2013 joint winner y separately published work icon The Midnight Promise : A Detective's Story in Ten Cases Zane Lovitt , Melbourne : Text Publishing , 2012 Z1875635 2012 selected work short story crime detective

'John Dorn is a private investigator. Just like his father used to be. It says "private inquiry agent" in John's yellow pages ad because that's what his old man called himself, back before his business folded, his wife left him and he drank himself to death.

'But John's not going to end up like his father. He doesn't have a wife, or much business. He doesn't really drink, either. Not yet.

'In each of these ten delicious stories Zane Lovitt presents an intriguing investigation filled with humour and complex, beautifully observed characters. At their centre is John Dorn, solving not so much crimes as funny human puzzles; but the crimes, and the criminals, are forever lurking nearby, taunting him from the city's cold underworld. It's his job to unravel the mystery, or right the wrong, or just do what the client has hired him to do. Somehow, though, there is a misstep at every turn, and John takes another small stumble towards his moment of personal truth. His midnight promise. Perhaps even his redemption.' (From the publisher's website.)

2013 winner Ruby Murray for Running Dogs
2012 winner Ashleigh Mounser
2011 Ashley Reynolds
2010 Eda Gunaydin
2009 winner Olivia Coleman
2009 winner Innocent Bones Cameron Brown , 2009 single work short story horror
2008 Katherine Sarna-Wetton
2007 winner Daniel Fudge
2006 winner Sam Meenahan
2005 first Bing Me Will Kostakis , 2005 single work short story
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 17-18 September 2005; (p. 24)
2004 winner Roxzan Bowes
2003 winner Michelle Chuong
2002 winner Serpent Kaye Hopping , 2002 single work short story
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 21-22 September 2002; (p. 13)
1999 winner Frances Simmons
1998 winner Family Cecilia Mok , 1998 single work short story
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 12 September 1998; (p. 10)
1997 joint winner Sydney West Region Window Adeline Teoh , single work short story
1986 winner If You Lose, You're Dead Cathryn Cooper , 1988 single work short story
— Appears in: If You Lose, You're Dead and Other Stories 1988; (p. 114-120)