AustLit logo
Shamus Crime Fiction Award for Best PI Paperback Original
Subcategory of Awards International Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Shamus Award is awarded by the Private Eye Writers of America (PWA) for the best detective fiction genre novels and short stories of the year.

'The Prize is given annually to recognize outstanding achievement in private eye fiction. Starting in 2003, the Shamus Awards are sometimes (2003, 2007–2009, 2011–2016) announced during the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention, at the convention's PWA Awards Banquet.


Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 1993

winner y separately published work icon The Last Tango of Dolores Delgado Marele Day , St Leonards : Allen and Unwin , 1992 Z449283 1992 single work novel crime

'Claudia Valentine has been hired to look after Dolores Delgado. Hanging out with this exotic and beautiful creature is more like fun than work - until the day Dolores drops dead.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

Works About this Award

Break of Day Sarah Walker , 1994 single work criticism biography
— Appears in: Good Weekend , 8 January 1994; (p. 24-26)