AustLit logo
S.H. Prior Memorial Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The S. H. Prior Memorial Prize was is awarded annually for the best work of fiction by an Australian author. The prize was founded to recognise the service to Australian literature by S. H. Prior , editor of The Bulletin for 18 years, by his son, H.K. Prior. 

The prize was not awarded in 1937.


1946 winner y separately published work icon Cookabundy Bridge and Other Stories Brian James , Sydney : Angus and Robertson , 1946 Z89254 1946 selected work short story
1945 winner form y separately published work icon The Fire on the Snow Douglas Stewart , 1941 1941 (Manuscript version)x400861 Z320857 1941 single work radio play
1942 winner y separately published work icon It's Harder for Girls and Other Stories Gavin Casey , Sydney : Angus and Robertson , 1942 Z824564 1942 selected work short story
1940 joint winner y separately published work icon The Pea Pickers Eve Langley , Sydney London : Angus and Robertson , 1942 Z454411 1942 single work novel (taught in 1 units)

'In The Pea Pickers, a novel based on Eve Langley's own experiences, Steve and Blue are two girls who, dressed as men, are taken on as itinerant workers for the farmers of Gippsland. They pack apples and pick peas. But their disguise is partial - and their quest is for love. For Blue the novel ends in marriage; but not for Steve. For her, desire is never straightforward, and love - for men, for women, for country - leaves her confused, but independent. ' (Publication summary)

1940 joint winner y separately published work icon The Battlers Kylie Tennant , London : Gollancz , 1941 Z250421 1941 single work novel (taught in 1 units)

'The flowers flared up from the ground unconquerable. The unrepentant gaiety of the weed, the burning blues and crimsons, set the hills glowing.

''It's a plant that's struck it lucky,' the Stray said thoughtfully. 'It hasn't got no right, but it's there.'

'The Battlers is the story of Snow, a drifter and wanderer, the waiflike Dancy the Stray, from the slums of Sydney, and the other outcasts who accompany them as they travel the country roads looking for work. Like the weed Patterson's Curse, they 'haven't got no right', but they are there. Based on her own experiences of life on the roads in the 1930s, Tennant tells the story of the motley crowd of travellers with compassion and humour. First published in 1941, The Battlers was awarded the Gold Medal of the Australian Literature Society and shared the S. H. Prior Memorial Prize. More than seventy years later, the book's message of survival against the odds is as relevant today as it was then. ' (Publication summary)

1939 winner y separately published work icon Who Was Joseph Furphy? The Glowworm , 1939 (Manuscript version)x401161 Z910448 1939 single work biography
1936 winner y separately published work icon All That Swagger Miles Franklin , Sydney : Bulletin , 1936 Z451516 1936 single work novel (taught in 2 units)
1935 inaugural winner y separately published work icon Tiburon Kylie Tennant , 1935-1936 Z1276004 1935 single work novel