AustLit logo
image of person or book cover 8877119443217736815.jpg
Ned Kelly Awards for Crime Writing (1996-)
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Ned Kelly Awards (named for bushranger Ned Kelly) are Australian literary awards for crime writing in both the crime fiction and true crime genres. They were established in 1996 by the Australian Crime Writers' Association to reward excellence in the field of crime writing within Australia.

Source: Sighted: 10/12/2013.


  • The Awards are offered by the Australian Crime Writers' Association to recognise and promote excellence in Australian crime writing.

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)v1132

Works About this Award

Debut Novel Scoops Crime Writing Awards Jason Steger , 2016 single work column
— Appears in: The Age , 29 August 2016; (p. 11)
Murder in Mississippi, Triumph in the Ned Kelly Awards Linda Morris , 2014 single work column
— Appears in: The Sun-Herald , 7 September 2014; (p. 17)
Identity Sounds Sirens Jason Steger , 2013 single work column
— Appears in: The Age , 10 August 2013; (p. 31)
Bookmarks Jason Steger , 2012 single work column
— Appears in: The Saturday Age , 4 August 2012; (p. 35)
A column canvassing current literary news including reports on progress in establishing the Stella Prize and on Peter Lawrance's efforts to establish the Crime Writers Association of Australia. Jason Steger also notes the shortlisted works in the 2012 Ned Kelly Awards.