AustLit logo
Commonwealth Short Story Prize
Subcategory of Awards International Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is awarded annually to ‘the best piece of unpublished short fiction from the Commonwealth’. The geographical categories include Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, Caribbean, and Pacific.


2020 winner (Pacific Region) Andrea Macleod for The Art of Waving
2020 winner (Pacific Category) Andrea E. Macleod for 'The Art of Waving'.
2014 winner Lucy Treloar

for 'The Dog and the Sea'