AustLit logo
Australian Children's Laureate
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Established in 2008, the Australian Children's Laureate is an honour awarded by the Australian Children’s Laureate Foundation.

The Laureate is appointed for a term of two years, and selected from recommendations made by 24 organisations, including: Australian Society of Authors, Australian Booksellers Association, Australian Library and Information Association, Australian Association for the Teaching of English, Australian Literacy Educators Association, Book Links QLD, Centre for Youth Literature, State Library Victoria, Children’s Book Council of Australia, Copyright Agency, Early Childhood Teachers Association, First Nations Australia Writers Network, IBBY Australia, National Library of Australia, Libraries ACT, State Library New South Wales, State Library South Australia, State Library Western Australia, State Library Queensland, Libraries Tasmania, Northern Territory Library, Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators, Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators, WA, The Literature Centre, Fremantle, and WestWords, NSW. 


2020-2021 Ursula Dubosarsky
2018-2019 Morris Gleitzman
2016-2017 Leigh Hobbs Hobbs's theme for his incumbency as Australian Children's Laureate: 'to champion creative opportunities for children, and to highlight the essential role libraries play in nurturing our creative lives'.
2014-2015 Jackie French French chose the theme 'Share a Story' for her incumbency as Australian Children's Laureate.
2012-2013 Alison Lester Joint inaugural appointee with Boori Monty Pryor.
2012-2013 Boori Pryor Joint inaugural appointee with Alison Lester.