AustLit logo
Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship supports Australian writers of biography, and extends to include a writer who is working on an aspect of cultural or social history. The Fellowship awards $15,000 to assist with travel and research.'

Only content relevant to Australia is indexed in AustLit.



  • The Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was established 'to encourage Australian authors to attain a high standard of biography writing and to commemorate the life, ideas and writing of Hazel Rowley (1951-2011)'.

    The fellowship is open to any 'Australian writer of biography', with preference being given to 'those projects that are about "risk-taking" and expanding horizons as well as those that promote discussion of ideas and make a significant contribution to public intellectual life'.

    The fellowship enables 'a new proposal to be developed or an existing proposal to be further progressed. It may be used to fund research, mentoring or travel, or to progress a manuscript for submission or presentation to potential publishers.'

    Source: Hazel Rowley website,
    Sighted: 07/11/2011

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2022

winner Naomi Parry for writing about the life of Gai-mariagal man Musquito, who was killed in Tasmania in 1825.

Year: 2021

winner Mandy Sayer for her proposal on the McDonagh sisters, Australia’s first female filmmakers

Year: 2020

winner Lance Richardson for a proposed biography of Peter Matthiessen.

Year: 2018

winner Jacqueline Kent

For a biography of Vida Goldstein.

winner Eleanor Hogan

for her project on the friendship between Ernestine Hill 
and Daisy Bates

Year: 2017

winner Ann-Marie Priest For a biography of Australian poet Gwen Harwood.

Works About this Award

Advances 2016 single work column
— Appears in: Australian Book Review , March no. 379 2016; (p. 1-2, 11)
Sisterly Love Continues Rowley's Legacy Jane Sullivan , 2011 single work column
— Appears in: The Saturday Age , 26 November 2011; (p. 30)
Bookmarks Jason Steger , 2011 single work column
— Appears in: The Saturday Age , 5 November 2011; (p. 29)
A column canvassing current literary news including a report on Robert Adamson's win in the 2011 Patrick White Award and news of the establishment of the Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship. (For further details of the latter, go to