AustLit logo
Melbourne Centenary Competition
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Melbourne Centenary Competition opened in 1933 with winners announced in 1934. The novel prize of £200 was offered by Mrs James Dyer. Conditions were that the novel be written by an Australian born writer, and should be of 60,000 to 100,000 words with no restriction as to subject. The winning novel would also be first published in Australia.


1934 joint winner y separately published work icon The Swayne Family Vance Palmer , Sydney : Angus and Robertson , 1934 Z98946 1934 single work novel The prize was shared with Frederick Hibble's novel, Karangi.
1934 winner Poem Melbourne and Memory Ode to Melbourne and Memory Furnley Maurice , 1934 sequence poetry
— Appears in: Melbourne Odes 1934; (p. 13-17) All About Books , 12 October vol. 6 no. 10 1934; (p. 191) Australian Pavements : An Urban Anthology 1964; (p. 42-43)
1934 joint winner y separately published work icon Karangi F. S. Hibble , Sydney : Endeavour Press , 1934 Z345778 1934 single work novel
1934 winner The Seahawk Vance Palmer , 1934 single work short story
— Appears in: Sea and Spinifex 1934; (p. 9-31)
Short story section