AustLit logo
Nature Writing Prize
or The Nature Conservancy Nature Writing Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Nature Conservancy Nature Writing Prize is a biennial event created to promote and celebrate the art of nature writing in Australia, as well as to encourage a greater appreciation of our magnificent landscapes.' (


2021 winner Gregory Day for 'The Watergaw'.
2019 joint winner Sue Castrique
2019 joint winner Jenny Sinclair
2017 winner Georgina Woods for On Time, Myth and Consequence
2017 winner Tanya Massy for Grassland
2011 inaugural winner y separately published work icon Threshold Country Annamaria Weldon , 2011 (Manuscript version)x402156 Z1764316 2011 single work essay

'The essay is set in Mandurah and, in part, tells the story of a Maltese woman learning to feel at home, and to live slowly, on the west coast of Australia. It also is about the story of landscapes and in particular Yalgorup Country.'

Source: Annamaria Weldon's website,
Sighted: 07/03/2011