AustLit logo
Byron Bay Poetry Festival Picaro Poetry Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Picaro Poetry Prize is run by Picaro Press and the Byron Bay Writers' Festival. The winning poems are featured in The Green Fuse, an anthology published in cooperation with the Varuna Writers' Centre.


2016 winner Mark Roberts for Perfume
2015 winner Gill Goater for Gifts from my Father
2011 winner Alison Thompson for Legacy
2010 winner Wanted : Poet i "Who addresses countries as if they're people", Gemma White , 2010 single work poetry
— Appears in: The Green Fuse 2010; (p. 20) Award Winning Australian Writing 2011 2011; (p. 18)
2010 winner y separately published work icon Before the Sky Max Ryan , Warners Bay : Picaro Press , 2010 Z1735795 2010 selected work poetry
2010 winner Nandi Chinna
2010 winner Meg Mooney
2010 winner Dael Allison