AustLit logo
Short Fiction (2009-)
Subcategory of Australian Shadows Award
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


One of the earliest sub-categories of the award, this was first given in 2009.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2021

Year: 2020

winner Brumation Anthony Ferguson , 2020 single work short story horror
— Appears in: Midnight Echo , no. 15 2020;

Year: 2019

winner Steadfast Shadowsong Matthew R. Davis , 2019 single work short story horror
— Appears in: Dig Two Graves : An Anthology 2019; (p. 241-255)

Year: 2017

winner The Banksia Boys Matthew J Morrison , 2017 single work short story fantasy
— Appears in: Andromeda Spaceways Magazine , March no. 66 2017; (p. 63-74)

Year: 2016

winner His Shining Day Richard Harland , 2016 single work short story
— Appears in: Dreaming in the Dark 2016; (p. 173-196)

'Paulie hated not being able to understand things. He knew they'd had to drive kilometres off the main route—bumping along a rough road with the caravan behind—but why hadn't the tank been properly filled with petrol? He knew Mr Spyriadakos was something to do with the Greek branch of Dad's company in Australia, but why did he have to travel with them all the way to Athens? He knew Dad and Mr Spyriadakos had been unable to work the single pump at the dilapidated, tin-shed petrol station outside the village, but why was there nobody there to serve them?' (Introduction)