AustLit logo


The Best of Times Short Story Competition
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Sponsored by the Fellowship of Australia Writers NSW. Conditions of entry are for a humorous short story with any theme and up to 2500 words. The competition is run twice a year. (


  • The Best of Times Short Story Competition is for humorous short stories (any theme) up to 2500 words.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2023

winner (Autumn) Wendy Wardell for 'The Australian Diversity Sausage'.
winner (Spring) Wendy Wardell for 'The Archibald Surprise'.

Year: 2022

winner (Autumn) David Keast for 'My Smartwatch'.
winner (Spring) Cheryl Lockwood for 'Signs of Boredom'.

Year: 2021

winner (Autumn) Tony Barrett for 'Against the Tide: In the Lap Lane of the Gods'.
winner (Spring) David Vernon for 'The Gardener Revealed'.

Year: 2020

winner (Autumn) David Vernon for 'Wiped Out'.
winner (Spring) Jude Bridge for 'Betwixt Buttock and Blue Sky'.

Year: 2019

winner (Autumn) Heather Mackenzie Ancient Chinese Wisdom With Spag Bol Sauce
winner (Spring) Heather Mackenzie for 'Mending Fences'.