AustLit logo
Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Formerly Festival Awards for Literature (SA)

'The Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature were established in 1986 and are an initiative of the Government of South Australia, managed through Arts SA. They are granted biennially to the judged-best authors in Australian children’s literature, fiction, innovation, non-fiction and poetry. The awards, which judge the best works published in Australia in the previous two years, are the nation’s most competitive literary awards (761 entries submitted for 2010).

'There is a total prize pool of $160,000, and these awards honour the best in Australian literature.

The Premier’s Award recognises the most outstanding published book submitted to the awards.

'The awards recognise published and unpublished works by emerging and established writers, across a number of genres.

'In 2012 a Young Adult Fiction Award was included for the first time. There are seven national awards (for published works) and two awards and two fellowships specifically for South Australian writers.' (Source: )

Winners (also see subcategories)6919231