AustLit logo
The Gemmell Awards
or David Gemmell Awards
Subcategory of Awards International Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Gemmell Awards (named for the British author of heroic fantasy, David Gemmell) are international awards celebrating fantasy fiction. In addition to the Legend Award (for best fantasy novel) and the Morningstar Award (for best debut fantasy novelist), they also include the Ravenheart Award (for best fantasy cover art).

Winners (also see subcategories)v2009