AustLit logo
Sydney Peace Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Sydney Peace Prize was designed to promote better understanding of peace and the practice of non-violence.


2015 winner George Gittoes
2009 winner John Pilger
2008 winner Pat Dodson
2008 winner Michael Dodson For courageous advocacy of the human rights of Indigenous people, for distinguished leadership of the reconciliation movement and for a lifetime of commitment to peace with justice, through dialogue and many other expressions of non-violence.