AustLit logo
Distinguished Service Award
or Children's Book Council of Australia, National Council Citation; or Distinguished Services Citation
Subcategory of Children's Book Council of Australia Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Awarded by the Children's Book Council of Australia, for services on a national level.

'Since 1990, the CBCA has been presenting suitable individuals with the Distinguished Services Citation which recognises ‘long and dedicated service to the work of the National Council of the CBCA’. The first recipients were Laurie Copping and Maurice Saxby, who were presented with citations and gold pins at the 1991 Awards presentations.

'At the 2009 AGM, the latest worthy beneficiaries announced were Dr John Cohen, long serving editor of Reading Time, and Jo Goodman, Victorian branch member (1986-2014). They were presented with their citation certificate and a special badge by the National President, Marj Kirkland, at the 2010 Book of the Year Announcement ceremony in Brisbane on August 20th.

'At the 2010 AGM, it was unanimously agreed to award Jill Midolo WA branch member and National Web Manager, the citation posthumously.'

Source: CBCA. 

History Source: 21/8/2019