AustLit logo


The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Jennifer Burbridge Short Story Award was established in 2001 by Mary Burbidge and Andrew Burbidge, to honour their eldest daughter, Jennifer, who died aged 21. It is funded by royalties from Mary Burbidge's memoir, Forever Baby.

Previously managed by FAW Victoria, the award was taken over by Williamstown Literary Festival from 2021, and presented alongside their Ada Cambridge Writing Prizes.

The award is given for a short story of up to 3000 words dealing with any aspect of the lives of those who suffer some form of physical, intellectual or mental health disability and/or the impact of disability on their families.


  • The FAW Jennifer Burbidge Short Short Award is sponsored by Mary Burbidge in honour of Jennifer Burbidge. The award, inaugurated in 2000, is for 'a story dealing with any aspect of those who suffer from some form of mental disability and/or its impact on their lives'.

    Source: The Envelope Please (2006)

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2022

winner Joanne Fairclough for 'Photo Day'.

Year: 2021

winner Ian Harrison for 'No Returning'.

Year: 2016

winner Mind Over Matter Joanna Nell , 2017 single work short story
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2017 2017; (p. 254-263)

Year: 2015

winner Vicky Daddo For 'Just Being'.

Year: 2014

winner Sarah Endacott for Happy birthday, Denise 2014