AustLit logo
The Booranga Prize for Fiction
Subcategory of The Booranga Prize
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Booranga Prizes, one for fiction and one for poetry, are awarded each year for the best short story and poem in the current issue of fourW, the annual anthology of new writing and graphics published by fourW press, out of Charles Sturt University's Booranga Writers' Centre. The competition judges are comprised of the fourW editor and the selection panel. The School of Humanities and Social Sciences at CSU funds the prizes, worth $250 each.' (Source )


  • Awarded annually to the works selected as the best poem and the best prose piece published in the FourW anthology.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2020

winner Jane Downing for 'Beuna Vista'.

Year: 2019

winner Rachael Mead for 'The Bouncer and the Blood Clot'.

Year: 2016

winner Sounds like Rain Beverley Lello , 2016 single work short story
— Appears in: FourW New Writing Twenty-Seven , no. 27 2016; (p. 69-73) Award Winning Australian Writing 2017 2017; (p. 270-277)

Year: 2013

winner Wet Season Broede Carmody , 2013 single work short story
— Appears in: New Writing , no. 24 2013; (p. 18-20) Award Winning Australian Writing 2014 2014; (p. 38-41)

Year: 2012

recipient (Best Poem) The Structuralist Cowboy i "Sort of, meaning exactly. On cowboy rode a frog", Michael Farrell , 2013 single work poetry
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2013 2013; (p. 76-77) Outcrop : Radical Australian Poetry of Land 2013; (p. 134-135)