AustLit logo
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Administered by the Fellowship of Australian Writers Victorian branch, this award is for an unpublished poem, or a suite of poems, between 14 and 60 lines, including epigraphs.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2016

winner Ben Walter For 'Lagoon Sequence'.

Year: 2015

winner Mark O'Flynn For 'Lyudmila’s Cottage'.
winner Ludmilla's Cottage i "In the valley mist curdles", Mark O'Flynn , 2016 single work poetry
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2016 2016; (p. 99-101)

Year: 2014

winner Water's Edge i "She lies at peace, warm in black and white dreams, straight", Simon Kennedy , 2015 single work poetry
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2015 2015; (p. 139-141)

Year: 2005

winner Prey i "my father has an eagle on his chest you know a bird of prey flared wings spread talons", David Campbell , 2006 single work poetry
— Appears in: The Envelope Please : A Celebration of the Winners from the 2005 National Literary Awards 2006; (p. 117)

Year: 2001