AustLit logo
Lloyd O'Neil Award for Services to the Australian Book Industry (1992-)
or Lloyd O’Neil Hall of Fame Award
Subcategory of Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA)
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


This award pre-dates the official beginning of the Australian Book Industry Awards in 2006, but is awarded under its auspices.

Indexed selectively.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2021

winner Mandy Macky

Year: 2020

Year: 2019

Year: 2017

Year: 2016

winner Brian Johns

Works About this Award

This Life of Books Suzy Wilson , 2018 single work column
— Appears in: Books + Publishing , July vol. 98 no. 2 2018; (p. 16)

'Riverbend Books owner and Indigenous Literacy Foundation (ILF) founder Suzy Wilson was awarded the Lloyd O'Neil Award for outstanding service to the Australian book industry at the 2018 ABIAs. In this edited excerpt of her acceptance speech, Wilson shares her thoughts on a life lived with books.'  (Publication abstract)

The Passion Is Still Bright, 50 Years on Jason Steger , 2015 single work column
— Appears in: The Age , 22 May 2015; (p. 12)
Champion of a Local Tradition Laurie Muller , 1992 single work obituary (for Lloyd O'Neil )
— Appears in: The Weekend Australian , 14-15 March 1992; (p. 6)