AustLit logo
FAW Australian Literature Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


This national literary award ran from 1997-2010.


1999 joint winner (Melbourne University Press Literature Award.) y separately published work icon Shark Bruce Pascoe , Broome : Magabala Books , 1999 Z834973 1999 single work novel (taught in 8 units) The third novel in the series that began with Fox and Ruby-Eyed Coucal. Jim Fox has recently returned to the land of his birth from the Papuan war of independence. Meanwhile, the sleepy town of Tired Sailor is nudged awake when a black child arrives, but will it ever really wake up? (Source: Publisher's website)
1999 joint winner y separately published work icon In the New Country David Foster , London : Fourth Estate , 1999 Z114128 1999 single work novel satire
1997 winner y separately published work icon Wrack James Bradley , Milsons Point : Vintage Australia , 1997 Z317165 1997 single work novel While searching for the wreck of a Portuguese ship which could rewrite the history of Australia, archaeologist David Norfolk stumbles upon a corpse buried fifty years before. Determined to understand its connection to the ship, David uncovers a story of obsession, secrets and sexual passion (Source: Publisher's description).