AustLit logo
FAW (Tas) Henry Savery National Short Story Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


This short story award is open to all writers resident in Australia. Stories must be original, unpublished and must not have won a monetary prize in any other competition.


2017 winner ‘Ducks, wild and otherwise’ Jodie Kewley


2016 winner Sue Benner for Jean West in the House of Terror
2011 winner Neil McInnes

for Tasty Necessities

2007 winner David Campbell
1997 winner Anne Shimmins
1987 winner P. R. Hay
1984 winner Archimede Fusillo
1982 winner The Rabbit and the Fish Bruce Roberts , 1990 single work short story
— Appears in: Storyline : Short Fiction by Tasmanian Writers 1990; (p. 111-116)