AustLit logo
May Gibbs Children's Literature Trust Fellowship
or Creative Time Fellowships
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The May Gibbs Children's Literature Trust promotes the creation of contemporary Australian children’s literature in the belief that children’s books, written and illustrated by Australians, are vital to the well-being, creativity and literacy of our children.' (


  • 'Fellowships offer Australian children's authors and illustrators the opportunity to take up one month's residence in a May Gibbs studio apartment, usually away from their home city or state, where they can concentrate intensively on their own creative work, as well as providing a significant stimulus to co-creators and contributing to the expansion of audience participation in, and appreciation of children's literature in the communities they visit.' (May Gibbs Children's Literature Trust website)

    The Fellowships are provided by the May Gibbs Children's Literature Trust. The Fellowships were first awarded in 2000.

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)17216060

Year: 2020

recipient Mark Carthew
recipient Deb Fitzpatrick
recipient Sadami Konchi
recipient Megan McKinlay
recipient Chrissie Perry

Year: 2019

recipient Aśka
recipient Caroline Magerl
recipient Kate O'Donnell
recipient Sue Whiting
recipient Shivaun Plozza
recipient Pip Harry
recipient Jackie Hosking
recipient Sally Murphy

Year: 2018

recipient Sherryl Clark
recipient Helen Thurloe
recipient Julie Hunt
recipient Tania McCartney
recipient Kathryn Apel
recipient Amelia Mellor

Year: 2017

recipient Matt Shanks
recipient Sally Heinrich
recipient Christina Booth

Year: 2016

recipient Steph Bowe
recipient Ruth Starke
recipient Andrew McDonald
recipient Susanne Gervay
recipient Claire Richards

Works About this Award

Dyan Blacklock 2005 single work column
— Appears in: Reading Time : The Journal of the Children's Book Council of Australia , May vol. 49 no. 2 2005; (p. 13)
The May Gibbs Children's Literature Trust Fellowships Krista Bell , 2005 single work column
— Appears in: Reading Time : The Journal of the Children's Book Council of Australia , February vol. 49 no. 1 2005; (p. 6-7)
Krista Bell recounts her time in Canberra, Australian Capital Territory on a May Gibbs Children's Literature Trust Fellowhip, May 2004.
The May Gibbs Fellowship Libby Gleeson , 2004 single work column
— Appears in: The Lu Rees Archives Notes Books and Authors , no. 26 2004; (p. 10-13)