AustLit logo
FAW Marjorie Barnard Short Story Award
or Marjorie Barnard Literary Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Fellowship of Australian Writers (FAW) NSW Inc. Marjorie Barnard Award is named after the distinguished novelist who provided in her will for this biennial competition. $500 is offered as first prize for a short story of 3000 words. The competition is held on an uneven year.'


2017 winner Gabrielle Leago

for "The Dark Road Home"

2015 winner Dorothy Simmons for 'Count Down'.
2013 winner The Numbers Man David Campbell , 2014 single work short story
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2014 2014; (p. 273-280)
2009 winner Sharyn Munro

for "Live at the Bellevue"

2005 winner Jacqueline Winn

for "Once More with Feeling"

2003 winner With Bells and Whistles Carrolline Rhodes , 2004 single work short story
— Appears in: Southerly , vol. 64 no. 3 2004; (p. 106-113)
1991 inaugural winner Carol Mara
1991 winner Yasmine Gooneratne

for  A Change of Skies