AustLit logo
Roland Robinson Literary Award
or Lake Macquarie Literary Awards
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Roland Robinson Literary Awards were established in 1993 in honour of Roland Robinson D.Litt(Hon), OAM.

'Roland was a distinguished poet and writer who spent his later years in Lake Macquarie. After his death in 1992 Lake Macquarie City Council established the annual Roland Robinson Literary Awards to honour his contribution to literature and culture and to foster creative literary talent in the City.

'Up to 1999, the Awards were restricted to residents of Lake Macquarie. From 2000 to 2008 the Awards were expanded to include aspiring poets and authors throughout the Hunter.' (


2008 winner Bluebottles i "The glass-slope of ocean", Kylie Rose , 2009 single work poetry
— Appears in: Harvest , Spring no. 3 2009; (p. 33)
2007 winner Ryan O'Neill for A  Speeding Bullet
2006 first Open Section The Westerly i "With the creek on its right, the grassfire takes left", Andrew Slattery , 2006 single work poetry
— Appears in: The Westerly : Poems Selected for the 2006 Roland Robinson Literary Award 2006; (p. 33-34) Colloquy : Text Theory Critique , May no. 13 2007;
2005 winner Wendy Alexander for Fifth Branch Down
2004 winner Chris Brown for Escarpment
2003 first Open Section Bella is Knitting Iced Vo Vos Julie Simpson , 2003 single work short story
— Appears in: A Smudge of Sun : Stories Selected for the 2003 Roland Robinson Literary Award 2003; (p. 9-14)
2002 winner Jan Iwaszkiewicz for Letter from Lone Pine
2001 winner Josh Davis
2000 winner Judy Johnson
1999 first Waves David Kirkby , 1999 single work short story
— Appears in: Stories from a Lakeside City : Stories Selected for the 1999 Roland Robinson Literary Award 1999; (p. 53-59)
1998 first Open Section Junga Yimi (True Story) i ""You sit 'ere, this way" said Jungarrayi, but I didn't hear.", David Kirkby , 1998 single work poetry
— Appears in: Lines from a Lakeside City : 1998 : Poems Selected for the 1998 Roland Robinson Literary Award 1998; (p. 24-25) Spinifex 2001; (p. 12-13)
1997 first James Dean and Old Dreams Pam Jeffery , 1997 single work short story
— Appears in: Stories from a Lakeside City 1997 : Stories Selected for the 1997 Roland Robinson Literary Award 1997; (p. 23-25)
1996 winner Richard Tipping
1995 winner Short story A Meaningful Life Jean Kent , 1995 single work short story
— Appears in: Stories from a Lakeside City : Stories Selected for the 1995 Roland Robinson Literary Award 1995; (p. 11-18) Antipodes , June vol. 12 no. 1 1998; (p. 37-40)
1994 winner Marion Steed for 

The Codependent's Revenge

1993 inaugural winner Marion Steed