AustLit logo
NBC Banjo Award for Fiction
Subcategory of NBC Banjo Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


1997 winner y separately published work icon Stepper Brian Castro , Milsons Point : Random House Australia , 1997 Z825531 1997 single work novel

'Tokyo, 1933. Tall, broodingly handsome, Victor Stepper is a consummate ladies' man, a brilliant journalist... and spy. As the world descends into war, Stepper collects information and sends it on to Moscow.

'Then he falls in love with Reiko, a Japanese woman. And Victor Stepper begins to fall apart...

'Stepper is a dazzling and haunting novel of espionage and erotic love.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

1996 winner y separately published work icon Billy Sunday Rod Jones , Sydney : Picador , 1995 Z280334 1995 single work novel historical fiction
1995 winner y separately published work icon Mad Meg Sally Morrison , Port Melbourne : Heinemann , 1994 Z298835 1994 single work novel
1994 winner y separately published work icon The Georges' Wife Elizabeth Jolley , Ringwood : Viking , 1993 Z545267 1993 single work novel

'Vera and Mr George have made a new life together but Vera's thoughts return again and again to loves and lovers, meetings and partings - the voices that echo in the mind like music. What has she learned from the well-bred peace of the Georges' household; the decadence and disorder of her friendship with Noel and Felicity: the fun and vulgarity shared with her 'widow' on the long voyage to Australia? Must we always repeat the past?'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

1993 winner y separately published work icon Soundings Liam Davison , St Lucia : University of Queensland Press , 1993 Z319311 1993 single work novel

'In this haunting novel, Cameron's life changes when he retreats to a small community in the Westernport swampland. The landscape becomes his obsession and photographs reveal unsettling images from the past.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

1992 winner y separately published work icon To the Burning City Alan Gould , Port Melbourne : Heinemann , 1991 Z151687 1991 single work novel
1991 joint winner y separately published work icon Longleg Glenda Adams , North Ryde : Angus and Robertson , 1990 Z290264 1990 single work novel

'Totally convincing and enjoyable ...[Adams] can sketch characters in a dialogue or two, extract entertainment from ordinary situations, and she captures the mood of suburban Australia.' Sunday Times 'It took William Badger some time to understand that he was going to be left behind, deliberately abandoned, what seemed like a thousand miles from home. His mother had simply asked if he would like a nice seaside holiday, and he had said yes.' When William Badger is ten years old his mother Rose takes him to a boarding house in Manly - Seven Miles from Sydney, and a Thousand Miles from Care. Left there, abandoned by the glorious Rose, who once danced and twirled on her little pointy shoes, William sits in the hedge and waits for her return. But the Rose he longs for never returns; the mother who comes back is much too angry to twirl. The only clue William has to this bewildering change is the name on a document he sees in the dining room sideboard: Longleg, the perfect name for an imaginary friend, or an alter ego...In this imaginative tour de force, Miles Franklin award winner Glenda Adams explores with tenderness and grace the life of a man who seems destined to find his mother in all other women. Winner of the National Book Council Banjo Award. Winner of The Age Fiction Book of the Year Award.' (Publication summary)

1991 joint winner y separately published work icon Cloudstreet Tim Winton , Melbourne : McPhee Gribble , 1991 Z204365 1991 single work novel (taught in 16 units) 'From separate catastrophes two rural families flee to the city and find themselves sharing a great, breathing, shuddering joint called Cloudstreet, where they begin their lives again from scratch. For twenty years they roister and rankle, laugh and curse until the roof over their heads becomes a home for their hearts.' (Source: Publisher's website)
1990 winner y separately published work icon The Story of the Year of 1912 in the Village of Elza Darzins : A Novel Thea Welsh , Brookvale St Peters : Simon and Schuster Australia New Endeavour Press , 1990 Z120647 1990 single work novel

'This first novel tells the story of Erika Cavanagh who has completed her translation and subtitling of the rediscovered Latvian film "The Story of the Year 1912 in the Village of Elza Darzins". But now history has caught up with her.'

Source: Blurb.

1989 winner y separately published work icon Oscar and Lucinda Peter Carey , St Lucia : University of Queensland Press , 1988 Z359704 1988 single work novel (taught in 7 units)

'Oscar Hopkins is an Oxford seminarian with a passion for gambling. Lucinda Leplastrier is a Sydney heiress with a fascination for glass. The year is 1864. When they meet on the boat to Australia their lives will be forever changed ...'

(Source: Publisher's website)